* Day 19 – Which authors or books have inspired your own writing the most, and why?

So when I was growing up, I primarily read Christian inspirational romances, mostly because they happened to be what my mom had laying around the house, right? But I can’t really call those things that inspired my writing. If anything, I found a lot of their writing styles stilted and lacking SOMETHING, though I couldn’t figure out what, so they instead inspired me not to write like them.

My latest inspiration is probably Stephen King. I really admire the straightforward way that he writes, a way that is accessible to both learned readers and less learned ones, and the way that he develops his plots. His book On Writing greatly changed my writing style, and I am forever grateful for it. I need to read him a bit more, actually, just to learn more about the suspenseful realm of writing.

