* Day 5 – Name two songs from your playlist that you feel are connected with your novel in some way, and explain how they are.

Erik’s theme song of the moment is arguably “Monster” by Skillet (feel free to look it up on YouTube. It’s a very lovely aggressive tune by a Christian rock/power metal band). Some samples of the lyrics are as follows:

“The secret side of me I never let you see,
I keep it caged but I can’t control it.
So stay away from me. The beast is ugly.
I feel the rage and I just can’t hold it.

It’s scratching on the walls, in the closet, in the halls.
It comes awake and I can’t control it.
Hiding under the bed, in my body, in my head.
Why won’t somebody come and save me from this? Make it end!

I feel it deep within.
It’s just beneath the skin.
I must confess that I feel like a monster.
I hate what I’ve become.
The nightmare’s just begun.
I must confess that I feel like a monster.”

I think it represents a lot of his descent when he gradually becomes aware of it and how his hallucinations are controlling his every whim.

A song that I associate with Freya is “In His Eyes” from the Broadway musical Jekyll and Hyde (there are unfortunately no recordings on YouTube of this in its OST form, but there are still several lovely live performances of it). It is a duet between the two female characters, one in love with Jekyll and the other in love with Hyde. They are singing to themselves about how their respective lover treats them badly, ignores them, etc., and how they should really leave him, but they are so dependent on him that they eventually decide that they cannot. The final lines are as follows:

“If I’m wise,
I will walk away,
And gladly…
But, sadly,
I’m not wise.
It’s hard to talk away
The memories that you prize.

Love is worth forgiving for!
Now I realize
Everything worth living for
Is there, in his eyes!”

Erik becomes this all-encompassing force, someone that controls Freya’s every choice and decision, and she stays with him because she believes herself to love him. I’m getting to this point in my novel, actually, and it’s sort of chilling to watch Freya descend from being an actual person to being Erik’s doll.

