Day 1 – Have you participated in NaNoWriMo before? If so, which years and what end result? If not (or even if so, for that matter), what’s your connection to writing? Why do you want to participate this year?

I first participated in National Novel Writing Month in my freshman year of college, ‘08. I failed epically. Maybe 3,000 words. I tried again in ‘09. Maybe 5,000 words. Finally, in ‘10, something succeeded. I started hooking up with my region and making friends with the people at write-ins and communicating with them all on the forums, and BAM, 80K that year. I never finished the novel, but it was nice to know I could actually do it, and when I reread my novel back in September of this year I was legitimately amazed by some of the things I had written. It will take some heavy revising due to my changing writing style, but I can honestly see it getting published one day.

I want to participate this year for pretty selfish reasons: My senior thesis, which is required for me to graduate, is a novel, and it is due on March 23rd, 2012. I am aiming for my novel to be around 100K or more, and thus far I only have 30K. Crunch time. I’m using NaNoWriMo to add 50K to my word total so that I have a better chance at finishing the novel and revising it for potential publication well in advance.

