Day’s Word Count: 2,391.

Total Word Count: 21,265.

Words to Go: 28,735.

It’s very strange to look at my Total Word Count and my Words to Go and to see their leftmost digit being the same. As that gap continues to close, I think I’m going to geek out majorly. Heck, when my Words to Go drops down to the 19,000s, I’ll probably throw a party and make cupcakes and swim in a pool of sprinkles or something.

Today was another fascinating day for character development. My dear loudmouth metalhead, the guy who invaded my story when I was least expecting it with his propensity for profanity, invaded once again today. I wasn’t planning this scene. In fact, I had just finished a scene where the male protagonist feels subconsciously attracted to the female protagonist for the first time and I was feeling pretty freaking excited. And then all of the sudden Andrew comes flying back into Leana’s territory, long hair waving in the wind and headphones blaring. I basically stared at the page the second he informed me that he should enter and sighed. Something told me it was going to be important.

And it was. Oh, it was. For the first time, I wrote what any child in my first church would have his mouth washed out for saying. It felt right. I knew that it had to happen. This is Andrew we’re talking about, and he often speaks conversationally with profanity and what not. But God, that was weird. I stared at the page after I wrote it and let the word sink into my eyes, the knowledge that I’d just wrote that, that if I ever had this novel published and my mom or dad read it they’d probably be sorely disappointed in me. And then I went on and wrote more profanity a few minutes later. Part of me is still reeling with how bizarre it feels.

And yet, even though I would never say those words in my life, it’s right. This is legitimately Andrew’s character. And it isn’t a reflection on myself as a person, as a writer, as any of that. If anything, I should be more worried about how the public would see the subject of my novel than the fact that I am writing profanity while I absolutely refuse to say it. And yet the nervousness is still there. I sent that part of my writing today to several people, in fact, asking them to read it for me and to let me know if it sounds right.

I’m not sure if I should be pleased or worried that one of them told me that I write profanity very well and in very natural places.

I am relieved, however, that as I sit here writing this tonight I both have a huge desire to keep writing as well as to sing. I blame the desire to write on the fact that I’m getting so close to my characters, that I’m finally getting past the introductory stages of the novel into the tension-filled and psychological chocolate center. The desire to sing is a little more intricate.

All right, I’m going to state a fact that I might catch a lot of flak for but that needs to be said: my current musical obsession right now is Linkin Park. Yes, I said it, and I’m not ashamed of it. They catch a lot of flak here and there among some people my age for being emo (which I will happily make fun of because, let’s face it, in many songs they are) and for the quality of their albums going down as they release them (which I will wholeheartedly disagree with except for in the case of Minutes to Midnight, which still managed to have three or four songs I think are just as superb as their others) and generally I don’t think I’ve ever met someone who thinks it’s ‘cool’ to like them, which means it’s probably a good thing I rarely care about what’s ‘cool’ these days. When it comes right down to it, I’m a bigger fan of Mike Shinoda, given that I think he has a genius lyrical and musical mind whether it comes to LP or his side hip-hop project, Fort Minor, but hey, they’re all cool.

This is all to say that Mike’s blog is one of many on WordPress that I follow and today he posted a link to their video filmed from one of their concerts in celebration of them receiving the Best Live Performance EMA a few days ago. I watched it and was almost immediately overcome by wonder. They put so much passion into their songs and their performances that I could literally feel it radiating off of my computer screen. I left there to go to one of my college classes, one solely developed around the concept of each student developing their own personal style in singing, and watched four of my classmates perform absolutely awesome pieces that made my heart soar even further. I left that class and made my way back to my dorm, walking through a live performance of several bands in the courtyard of my dorm along the way, and by the time I sat in front of my computer against I was exploding with Heart and Pat Benatar at the top of my ever-loving lungs.

This is a good feeling. My mind is wholly centered around the arts today. I want to write. I want to sing. I want to perform. I want to look at beautiful paintings and stare in wonder. I want to read. I want to listen to all kinds of music. I want to go to all sorts of live performances. I want to watch a good movie. I want to see a good play. If only I could live like that for the rest of my life, I would be content.

By the way, for any writers struggling for inspiration, go check out the link in my sidebar, NaNo Bloggers. 🙂 Over 170 blogs participating in NaNoWriMo all ready for you to pick their brains free of interesting and inspiring tidbits.

