Day’s Word Count: 3806.

Total Word Count: 11,357.

Words to Go: 38,643.

First of all, I have one thing to say.

I have passed the 10,000 word mark.

Good heavens, I’ve never written this much for NaNoWriMo before, not once. I’ve reached perhaps the 6,000 word count before I give up and run off to do what I think are more important things. Generally I’m pretty sure that I just think I can’t do it and, with no encouragement and with nothing keeping me going, I give up and give a massive middle finger to NaNoWriMo and storm off elsewhere to do something easier, something that would never challenge me even if it tried.

Today is an amazing reminder that sometimes those things that challenge you are entirely worth it in the end, even if it means you’re crying at the end and trying to figure out how you made it in the first place.

I made it my personal goal yesterday to pass the 10K mark today, and the moment that I passed that filled me with joy. It’s a tradition on the Nashville section of the NaNoWriMo forums to post the sentences that drew you over the 10K line in a special thread, and I thought that I would carry on that tradition over here. Before you read this, I’d like to remind you that editing as you go is highly frowned upon during NaNoWriMo. Thus, I am not responsible for the various things in these sentences that need to be changed…not yet:

 

She pressed down on a few keys absently, feeling the strong major chord flit around the air around her. She paused and proceeded to the next major chord, a mere half-step up from the last. The next chord she tried, however, made a slight chill run down her spine, and she was quick to lift her hand from the keys.

“C-sharp diminished.”

Leana looked over her shoulder quickly, eyes wide and standing to her feet. The new student teacher stood calmly in the doorframe, leaning against it with his head tilted to the side and his longer blond hair curling lightly in front of his eyes. He smiled kindly at her and proceeded into the room, moving past her to his desk. “Don’t stop on my account,” he said softly, placing his bag by his chair before he turned to face her and sat carefully on the edge of the desk.

 

There are so many things I want to do with those sentences to make myself feel better, but that’s part of the entire process of NaNoWriMo. You get these words out. You push yourself to create them. You prove to yourself that you are entirely capable of it, no matter how many times you have to fail to get there. You can go back and edit it all in NaNoEdMo in March, but you can do it with your head held high because, by God, you just wrote a novel, and you deserve a nice three month break for that alone.

In the midst of my smacking the ball out of left field like that today, I suddenly remembered what the real world was again. I remembered my responsibilities to it as a full-time student who is preparing for an audition into the Performance emphasis of my major, Commercial Music (which basically means that I’m learning how to sing any genre that isn’t classical and how to sing it well. :D) as well as holding down several intensive academic classes.

It all occurred to me at around 5:30pm when I realized that I had several math problems due tomorrow that I had yet to start on. Keep in mind that this isn’t your standard arithmetic. Currently we are studying graph theory, and one of these problems literally took me thirty-two minutes to solve. That’s around how long it took me to write my two-page essay due tomorrow with a healthy amount of bs-ing involved. ONE problem.

I’ve never felt as much stress as I did when I had to literally drag myself away from the computer and my writing in order to finish it.

It’s a reminder that I can’t live in a fairy tale world where I write all the live long day or anything like that. As nice as it would be, I suppose that part of becoming an adult is learning how to balance all of your responsibilities and to put them in an order that’s best for you, not necessarily what you want it to be.

Gosh. How lame is that.

