Day’s Word Count: 3,248.

Total Word Count: 5,606

Words to Go: 44,394.

If there is anything that I learned today, it is that I am wholeheartedly willing to put everything else in my life on hold in favor of writing. I wrote about 500 words total in the midst of two of my classes today, which equates to about a page and a half in my handwriting, and I literally feel no shame about possibly missing something really important that might be on a test later. I then proceeded to ignore the fact that I had some reading I needed to do for tomorrow in favor of writing another 2,700 words or so over the course of a couple of hours. I literally had to drag myself away from the keyboard to read the wonderfully clunky writing style of Chaim Potok and My Name is Asher Lev.

I would be completely happy doing this for the rest of my life. I really would. It was so…eye-opening that it nearly took my breath away.

I also learned that half of the time what I write for NaNoWriMo makes absolutely no sense initially. I look forward to the eye-gouging process of editing this into something that I want other people to read.

I promised that today I’d give the rather awkward story of my plot summary if only because I enjoy people having a giggle at my expense every once and a while. I realized all through today, though, just how much of a creeper I’m going to sound like as I’m talking about it. Feel free to proceed straight to filing for a restraining order if you like.

My novel, tentatively named Distant Harmonies at this point, is about a student and a student teacher having an affair.

Yes, you just read that right. Let me explain. : )

My senior year of high school, the choral department received a student teacher who was possibly the most adorably dorky man I’ve ever seen in my life. There were a select few of us females who immediately developed a crush on him and, to capitalize on that, I decided to write a silly little story about a student with a giant crush on her student teacher. My writing was silly, I had no main plot, anything like that. I just wanted to write something that would make people giggle.

I graduated from high school and put it away. However…when I looked at it a few months into my first year of college, I thought to myself “I could do something with this.” And I began to dream about changing it entirely.

What would it take for a high school student teacher, recently married and in love with being a husband and a father, to break? If this man wasn’t a pervert, if he didn’t get high off of looking at these little nubile high school girls running around, what would it take for him to be brought down so far that, finally, something gave? What would it take for a young, innocent, naive high school girl with no thoughts of seducing this man to give into looking at him with something other than respect? What would it take for the two of them to give in to what they felt, as against their principles as it was? And, finally, what would it take for the both of them to risk giving up everything they held dear just to carry on some sort of affair?

The possibilities of playing in such a psychological universe struck me so strongly that I couldn’t say no. So, I began to tweak the tale I wrote. I borrowed my high school student teacher’s first name and appearance. I crafted a female character I’ve had in the back of my mind for years until she fit such a realistic scene. I began to continue the first tale I wrote, but something…didn’t fit. It was too schizophrenic from where I first began.

When NaNoWriMo 2010 began, I saw the perfect opportunity to finally finish it.

I’ve begun anew. Revisiting these characters, this plot, is so strange, and yet it feels so right. I’m doing it…right this time. It’s absolutely mind-blowing that something I’ve had in my mind for almost four years, for one-fifth of my life, is finally coming to fruition.

I hope everyone comes along with me on this crazy ride. I’ve got so much I want to share.

